The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren

By Shannon Schuren

$14.29

Description

A compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free-perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale and Tara Westover’s Educated.Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in the desert far away from the sins and depravity of the outside world. Within the gates of New Jerusalem, and under the eye of its founder and leader, Daniel, Miriam knows she is safe. Cared for. Even if she’s forced, as a girl, to quiet her tongue when she has thoughts she wants to share, Miriam knows that New Jerusalem is a far better life than any alternative. So when God calls for a Matrimony, she’s thrilled; she knows that Caleb, the boy she loves, will choose her to be his wife and they can finally start their life together. But when the ceremony goes wrong and Miriam winds up with someone else, she can no longer keep quiet. For the first time, Miriam begins to question not only the rules that Daniel has set in place, but also what it is she believes in, and where she truly belongs. Alongside unexpected allies, Miriam fights to learn-and challenge-the truth behind the only way of life she’s ever known, even if it means straying from the path of Righteousness.A compelling debut novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free.Praise for The Virtue of Sin:”Shannon Schuren weaves a complex tale of love, faith, and lies in her thought-provoking debut The Virtue of Sin. As important as it is entertaining, this is a must-read for anyone who knows that independent thought trumps fitting in. One of my favorite reads of the year.” -Christina Dalcher, bestselling author of VOX”Schuren beautifully captures the breathlessness of both first love, and first rebellion, in this engrossing, timely book. Part page-turning drama, part romance, the novel is above all an exploration of the ways repression can damage the soul-and what it takes to rise above it.” -Jennifer Donaldson, critically acclaimed author of Lies You Never Told Me

Additional information

Weight 0.78 oz
Language

English